Recent Q&A

From the October 2019 Webinar, How to Transform Your Practice Workflow to Succeed in MIPS: Advice for Solo and Small Group Practices

Is it in the best interest of a solo practitioner who does not have an EHR to submit a hardship exception?

Whether or not you should submit a hardship exception for the Promoting Interoperability performance category depends on your specific situation. If you do not have an Electronic Health Record, applying for a hardship exception is an option you may want to consider, although it does not guarantee a hardship exemption will be granted. Clinicians or groups may submit a Promoting Interoperability Hardship Exception Application, citing one of the following reasons for review and approval:

  • MIPS eligible clinician in a small practice
  • MIPS eligible clinician using decertified EHR technology
  • Insufficient Internet connectivity
  • Extreme and uncontrollable circumstances
  • Lack of control over the availability of CEHRT

If you receive an exception for the PI category, the PI category would receive a 0 weight in calculating your final score, and the 25% is reallocated to the Quality category, making the Quality category worth 70 points. If you qualify, you may also claim exclusions for the Promoting Interoperability measures. You can find a detailed overview of the requirements for the 2019 Promoting Interoperability category objectives and measures in the 2019 Promoting Interoperability Measure Specifications.

Read the Q&A document for more answers to your questions.

Comments are closed.

Create a website or blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: